Percussive chamber music with the unique combination of piano, marimba and vibraphone

Laurent Warnier [vibraphone]

Rachel Xi Zhang [marimba]

Pascal Meyer [piano]

[ About ]

Machine à trois (Mà3) is a percussive chamber music group formed by Pascal Meyer, Rachel Xi Zhang and Laurent Warnier performing contemporary classical music. The Trio consists of the unique combination of piano, marimba and vibraphone and produces music in which the sounds of struck wires, woods and metals interlock like a well oiled machine. The music varies from impressionist soundscapes and jazz influenced groove to post-minimal and other experimental conceptual ideas.

The three performers are very interested in bringing unheard music to their audiences, this includes their own original music and arrangements, and music written by other performers/composers especially for them.

Mà3 believes in red thread programming with music from the current and previous centuries, with equal admiration for music from all genres, improvised or written out.

Since the first time they performed together in 2011, they left their footprints all over the world, from Amsterdam’s Concertgebouw, Luxembourg's Philharmonie to the National Centre of Performing Arts in Beijing.

[ Press ]

"… the intriguing piano/marimba/vibraphone trio Machine à trois, in compositions by its members and other musicians, often with a lot of poetry and sound diversity."
                                                                                  -- Dominique Adrian, Resmusica

"What is remarkable is how, in their duet, Rachel Zhang and Laurent Warnier managed not to juxtapose, to add up, but to multiply! They favor a more subtle, more nuanced, more expressive, more significant style (…) In the same way, the presence alongside them of Pascal Meyer adds an original dimension in which the timbres and the colors of the marimba, the vibraphone and the piano meet each other, becoming more articulated for the first two or more percussive for the third. A space of exploration opens up, a new sound field is revealed, which they are fascinated to explore."
                                                                                    -- Stephane Gilbart, Crescendo